1 2 3


Delicate french elegance

Franz Liszt: Prometheus – symphonic poem
Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No 1 in D major
Ernest Chausson: Poème for Violin and Orchestra
Ernest Chausson: Symphony in B-flat major, Op. 20

Alissa Margulis – violin

Conducted by: Tibor Bogányi

Concert estimated duration: 110 minutes
Ticket prices: 5990, 4990, 2990 HUF
Season ticket prices: Full price in HUF /Price category I: 26.000, Price category II: 22.900, Category III: 16.900 / For students and senior citizens/ Price category I: 20.300, Category II: 17.200, Category III. 13.500
Ticket purchase Season ticket purchase

In this season's subscription series of the Pannon Philharmonic, we can encounter a legendary celebrity and a unique treat from the centuries of music history in nearly every production. The opening concert of the series is launched with Ferenc Liszt's symphonic poem. As, according to myth, Prometheus gave fire to humanity, so did Liszt wish to show new dimensions with this music. It is followed by Prokofiev's 1917 violin concerto, which was first banned by the socialist revolution, then by the Parisian audience demanding modernism. Finally, it was received among the most popular violin concertos thanks to József Szigeti's dedicated efforts. The violin concerto with a Romantic tone is followed by another violin concerto composed by a tragically deceased French Romantic master, Ernest Chausson. His music is idealistic, brooding and poetic. He was also the composer of the symphony concluding the night and having heard his works, we may well feel like hearing his music in the future. In fact, while listening to it, we may recall the New World Symphony written around the same time as Chausson’s composition.

It’ll be the first time you’ve played alongside the Pannon Philharmonic.

I’m much looking forward to seeing Tibor Bogányi again, who heard me play first at the Salzburger Festspiele. He was on excellent terms not only with me but also with my husband, Alexander Buzlov, who died tragically young at the age of 37. Also with this joint concert, we will remember him, playing Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 1.

How are you connected to this piece?

Prokofiev’s work has been part of my entire life, not only because my professor was the marvellous Zakhar Bron. This work is a classic, and I really enjoy playing it; I performed it last in Bangkok and the Paris Philharmonie. In the September concert, the mutual impact of Russian and French music is in the limelight. Besides the popular violin concerto, also one of the masterpieces of a lesser-known figure of French Romantic music, Ernest Chausson’s Poème for Violin and Orchestra, will be staged. It is a heavy and tragic work, inherently connected to the Violin Concerto in D major. (PAPAGENO)

Koncert kép



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Special closing days HERE.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Friday:
10 AM – 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via 72 / 500-300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM to 6 PM


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communications manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992