1 2 3

Window to Infinity

Johann Sebastian Bach: The Art of the Fugue

Conducted by: Cristian Mandeal

Season ticket prices: 8.500 HUF, 7.500 HUF, 6.500 HUF
Season ticket purchase

This year, the Pannon Philharmonic won't commemorate the dead with conventional funeral music. The piece heard this time focuses much more on the immortality of the spirit, the multifacetedness yet unity of humanity drawn from each other and the ambiguity of life's fulfilment and inevitable incompleteness. We can listen to a globally famous yet in its entirety unknown work, Bach's The Art of Fugue. In the final decade of his life, the elderly Bach attempted to make a comprehensive, encyclopedic summary of various genres in several of his works. He did the same with the already then highly prestigious genre, the fugue. The 14 fugues are based on the same theme, which keeps changing to such an extent that it turns into independent themes,  later encountering their own former and later selves. An identical "soul" lives on in continuously renewing "bodies". The last movement, which uses four different forms of the theme at the same time, remains incomplete. Neither did the composer leave any indication of the instruments he wished to apply. These "deficiencies" contribute to the work's immortality even more strongly, as since then, numerous conductors and composers have felt that they should score and complete this musical treasure. This time, we can hear the piece in Erich Bergel's 1985 arrangement.



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Saturday:
10 AM - 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via 72 / 500-300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM  to 6 PM


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communication manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992