1 2 3

With heart and soul

Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major
Giuseppe Martucci: Nocturne in G-flat major, Op. 70 No. 1
Béla Bartók: The Miraculous Mandarin - Suite

József Balog – piano

Conducted by: Tibor Bogányi

Concert estimated duration: 100 minutes
Ticket prices: 4990, 5900, 6990 HUF
Ticket purchase Season ticket purchase

Love, passion, poetry and drama would be the keywords of the pieces featured at this concert. Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 2 presents a mature man and a mature composer to us; the piano soloist of the piece's premiere was the master himself. Besides the piano solo part, it also offers splendid solo opportunities to the orchestra's musicians, developing into a true dialogue between the individual musical instruments. In his Nocturne in G-flat major, the late-Romantic Martucci combines Italian melodiousness with Wagnerian density and infinity. His Romantic idyll will be followed by Béla Bartók’s extraordinarily progressive music, which – despite its profanity – aims to provide a tangible manifestation of the power of love and human emotions.

"I believe I have one of the longest and most thorough working periods of my life behind me lately... it is, by the way, the fiftieth piano concerto I have learned. For a long time, I thought I'd rather not play it; then, I was asked to, and I couldn't possibly turn the request down....And now I feel that this composer wrote one of the greatest masterpieces of the piano repertoire personally for me." said pianist József Balog in an interview with Gramofon.

Koncert kép



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Saturday:
10 AM - 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via 72 / 500-300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM  to 6 PM


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communication manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992