1 2 3

Viennese Classicism and Jazz / PannonSeries +

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 2 in D major K. 211
Friedrich Gulda-Selim Giray: Concerto for cello and wind ensemble (solo violin version)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Benjamin Schmid – violin

Conducted by: Tibor Bogányi

Concert estimated duration: 115 minutes


High spirits, optimism, humour and vitality – all are warmly welcome to join us at this concert who wish to experience these uplifting sensations. You will hear three compositions full of these feelings written by three pianist-composers who spent most of their lives in Vienna. First, the audience can relish Mozart's Violin Concerto in D major, a composition alluding to the ideas and plans of Mozart, the young adult. This work is part of Mozart's violin concerto trilogy alongside two others in G major and A major. In reference to these violin concertos, Mozart made the remark to his father that he had left his years as a child prodigy behind; now he couldn't write just any odd piece, for he had to compete with adult masters. Even from a distance of two hundred years, we can undoubtedly claim that he would not need to feel embarrassed about his achievements. Another violin concerto follows Mozart's music, originally a cello concerto, which is, however, by no means the strings-inspired, lyrical type, as its composer was the 20th-century pianist, Friedrich Gulda. The work is greatly inspired by jazz and pop music and is not accompanied by a symphony orchestra but by a winds ensemble assisted by percussion instruments.

Nonetheless, this buoyant piece unmistakably meets the formal, content-related, emotional, instrumental and technical requirements of classical music. Finally, you can hear Brahm's Symphony No. 2 in D major, perhaps the master's most optimistic symphony. In this composition, we can encounter a smiling Brahms full of vitality and creativity, inspired this time by his high spirits.

You can "put in hand", read, turn a page virtually our ONLINE MUSIC-PROGRAMME here!

Pannon Philharmonic performances extend a gold-backed guarantee, that time spent unwinding at our high-quality concerts will ripen into an opportunity for collaborative music making.
Season ticket purchase



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

Opening hours:
- Monday to Thursday 10 AM - 6 PM, Friday 10 AM - 4 PM
- Saturday and Sunday closed
- during the live streams closed


+36 72/500-300 (EN)


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communication manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992