1 2 3

Roaming Italy

Live stream from the Kodály Centre

Gioachino Rossini: L’italiana in Algeri (The Italian woman in Algiers) – Overture
Ignaz Malzat: The Oboe Concerto in C major
Hector Berlioz: Harold en Italie (symphonic poem)

Jaroslav Murin – viola
Clara Dent-Bogányi – oboe
Bence Bogányi – bassoon

Conducted by: András Vass

Concert estimated duration: 100 minutes

Italian music. Who wouldn’t associate it with Rossini and the opera? The programme organisers certainly did, and put Rossini’s refreshing and frisky overture at the beginning of the concert. When we think of concertos, Vivaldi will be the Italian composer to pop first into our minds. However, this concert will feature the baroque Benedetto Marcello’s Oboe Concerto, which was so popular in its time that even Bach made a transcription of it. Finally, a French composer looks upon Italy: Hector Berlioz’s symphony Harold in Italy will bring delight to the audience. The composer himself „acts” as Byron’s Harold telling us about his own adventures. The various solo instruments act as characters in the symphony. The protagonist, Harold, is represented by the solo viola. Liszt commented on this work as follows: „Berlioz in his work rises above those contradictions which derive from the direct juxtaposition of heavenly joyful Italy and a heart filled with disappointments and pain.” Byron or Berlioz’s Harold could be taken as the embodiment of the combination of Italian gaiety and Hungarian melancholy.

Pannon Philharmonic performances extend a gold-backed guarantee, that time spent unwinding at our high-quality concerts will ripen into an opportunity for collaborative music making.
Season ticket purchase



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

Opening hours after  2020, 10 November restriction Covid-rules
- Monday-Thursday: 10.00am – 6.00pm
- Friday: 10.00am – 4.00pm ​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​- from 23 December to 4 January closed
- during the live streams closed


+36 72/500-300 (EN)


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communication manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992