1 2 3

Beauty and Dignity

Carl Maria von Weber: Konzertstück in F minor, Op. 79
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 7

Dénes Várjon – piano

Conducted by: Tibor Bogányi

Ticket purchase Season ticket purchase

This concert selects from the works of two composers who considered beauty and dignity their ars poetica. Though he composed lasting works in numerous other genres as well, today Carl Maria von Weber is known primarily as the composer of The Enchanted Hunter, the opera that established the main toposes of German musical romanticism. He finished the one movement concerto that will be performed at the concert on the morning of the celebrated opera’s debut. We will hear an interpretation of this delicate, brilliant piece by Dénes Várjon, lauded by critics as one of Hungary’s most important and best piano players and a huge fan of 19th century music. In the second half of the night, we’ll hear Anton Bruckner’s last completed symphony, dedicated to Emperor Franz Joseph. The nickname “The Apocalyptic” does not come from the composer himself. Bruckner’s artistry is living a manifold renaissance in Pecs, thanks to the steadfast, dedicated work of Nicolas Pasquet in the 1990s and carried on today by the evening’s conductor, Tibor Bogányi.



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Summer opening hours between 8 and 21 July, and 5 and 18 August:
Mon–Thu: 10.00–6.00 pm
Fri: 10.00–4.00 pm
Sa–Su: closed

On 16 July, between 22 July and 4 August, and on 19 and 20 August, the ticket office will be closed.


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Linda Potyondi
sales representative
+36 30 866 2310


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communications manager
+36 30 222 7992