1 2 3

Ligeti – the Hungarian genius

Day of Hungarian Classical Music

Johannes Ockeghem – Ajtony Csaba: Deo Gratias – orchestral arrangement
Ligeti György: Lontano
Conlon Nancarrow – Ajtony Csaba: Study for Player Piano No. 5
Ligeti György: Violin Concerto
Ligeti György: Concert Românesc

Barnabás Kelemen – violin

Conducted by: Ajtony Csaba

Ticket prices: 2490 HUF
Ticket purchase

This year, the music world celebrates the 100th anniversary of the birth of György Ligeti, one of the most innovative composing geniuses of the post-war generation, whose name may be familiar not only to music lovers but also to movie fans: it was his dazzling sounds that elevated Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey to the ranks of the greatest movies of all time. On this special occasion, the Pannon Philharmonic, the symphony orchestra of Pécs has put together an exceptionally thoughtful concert featuring the violin virtuoso Barnabás Kelemen and conductor and contemporary music expert Csaba Ajtony. The programme offers a fascinating cross-section of Ligeti's colourful oeuvre, from the folkloricism of his early career through the avant-garde to his late style, while also offering a glimpse into the art of the Renaissance Ockeghem, one of Ligeti’s most important sources of inspiration. If you are curious to know how classical music can be touching, ironic, playful and at the same time reveal the most hidden secrets of the universe, this concert is for you!



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Special closing days HERE.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Friday:
10 AM – 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via +36 72 500 300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM to 6 PM.

Email inquiries are welcome at jegypenztar@pfz.hu.


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Linda Potyondi
sales representative
+36 30 866 2310


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communications manager
+36 30 222 7992