1 2 3

Brandenburg Concertos

Sergei Prokofiev: Classical Symphony No. 1 in D major (Op. 25)
Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.1
Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2
Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4

József Balog – piano
Péter Solymosi DLA – trumpet
Viktória Gárdai – flute
Roman Murin – oboe
Márta Deák – violin
Gábor Prehoffer – recorder I
Bálint Kovács – recorder II
Dániel Papp – violin

Conducted by: András Vass

What joy of living on this gloomy February night! (Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2)
Ticket prices: 5990, 4990, 2990 HUF
Ticket purchase

Prokofiev and Bach both became pivotal figures in their own times. However, in their youth, their environment made no promises to them in this regard. The programme of this concert reflects on themes such as the will to achieve something more, something bigger, something new. The ambience of Prokofiev’s Symphony No 1 evokes Haydn’s universe, but its swiftness and spectacular orchestration go beyond the ”weaponry” of the Classical master. Prokofiev composed his Piano Concerto No. 1 during his years at university, where he strove to break away from the late-Romantic conventions of his time in all respects, which some considered scandalous, others modern. Bach had similar sensations in Köthen, where the exclusively instrumental pieces he was commissioned to write, he found "dull small-town jobs". It was at this time when the Margrave of Brandenburg asked him to write a collection of concertos. The six Brandenburg Concertos can be seen as a mini-encyclopedia of the genre: there are a few somewhat anachronistic concertos of an early Baroque style, concerto Grossi and works written for unusual solo instruments. The concert features Brandenburg Concertos No. 2 and 4; both employ unique groups of solo instruments. 



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Special closing days HERE.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Friday:
10 AM – 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via +36 72 500 300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM to 6 PM.

Email inquiries are welcome at jegypenztar@pfz.hu.


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Linda Potyondi
sales representative
+36 30 866 2310


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communications manager
+36 30 222 7992