1 2 3

refreshing & seductive Dreaming together

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Midsummer Night's Dream, op.21

Ágnes Szalai – soprano
Júlia Balázs – soprano
Barnabás Kelemen – violin

Conducted by: Zsolt Hamar

Ticket prices: 2990, 3990, 4990 HUF Children and teenagers between 6 and 18 years of age are admitted with tickets free of charge.
Ticket purchase

Those who have been on the British Isles, on the coast of the Atlantic, often talk about the pouring rain, the romantic green landscape, the high cliffs, caves and the ocean waves washing over the rocks. Mendelssohn did the very same thing with the overture of The Hebrides. Its romance, structural creativity, melody development were admired even by Wagner, who was by no means a fan of Mendelssohn’s.  The Midsummer Night’s Dream was to act as incidental music for Shakespeare's play, where the author created a unique fairy world. The initial chords of its overture don't open a drama but a fairy-tale to us. The music doesn't turn the composition into an opera; still, it makes it very musical at pivotal spots. It best-known movement is the Wedding March. Even if it is played only rarely in its entirety, its first chord is a genuine signature. Interestingly, although Wagner himself had composed another famous Wedding March in Lohengrin, in Die Walküre, he still alluded to the wedding with a chord borrowed from Mendelssohn.

It is the start of a new season in which we welcome you!
Season ticket purchase



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Saturday:
10 AM - 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via 72 / 500-300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM  to 6 PM


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communication manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992