1 2 3

I am who I am

Richard Strauss: Don Juan – Symphonic Poem, Op. 20
Richard Strauss: Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 6 in C major, D.589 ('Little C Major')

Dávid Bereczky – horn

Conducted by: András Vass

Concert estimated duration: 80 minutes
Ticket prices: 1990, 2990, 3990 HUF Children and teenagers between 6 and 18 years of age are admitted with tickets free of charge.
Ticket purchase

At this concert, we can enjoy the voices of two young composers: Richard Strauss and Franz Schubert. Richard Strauss is a double-faced master. In his early and late career, his compositions would be explicitly Romantic, while in the middle phase, as a pioneer of 20th-century music, he would strain the limits of tonality. However, the various periods of his career have in common that his orchestral parts would always represent a great challenge for musicians. It is, therefore, no coincidence that in musicians' circles, he is often referred to as Richard Stress. This night, though, no trace of stress will come upon our audience. Instead, they can relish pleasant melodies and dynamic caprices. In the symphonic poem based on the legend of Don Juan, the lyrical "I" seeks the ideal woman with an ever-growing passion, yet in vain. The  Horn Concerto No. 1  presents to us the 18-year-old Richard Strauss, who would compose horn music with great confidence despite his young age as the son of one of the best hornists of the day. Thus, he wrote one of the most popular pieces of the French Horn repertoire in his youth. Schubert also worked at a boundary of musical periods, so his music reflects both the past (the Classical Period) and the future (Romanticism). His Symphonies No. 4 and 5 are to pay homage to Beethoven and Mozart. In contrast, his Symphony No. 6 already represents his own, individual path, where the influence of his great predecessor does not vanish, but his Lied-like style comes to prevail.



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.

Opening hours:
From Monday to Saturday:
10 AM - 6 PM

Telephone inquiries can be made via 72 / 500-300 from Monday to Saturday from 10 AM  to 6 PM


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative


Press relations

Ms. Csilla Szabó
communication manager
Tel.: +36 30 222 7992