The Choreographer

Joseph Haydn: Minuet in C major, Hob.IX:16 No.1-2-3
Igor Stravinsky: Violin concerto in D
Ferenc Lehár: Gold and Silver Waltz
Richard Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier (The Knight of the Rose) Suite

Kristóf Baráti – violin

Conducted by: Gilbert Varga

Ticket prices: HUF 5,990 » HUF 4,990 » HUF 3,990 » HUF 1,000 » The concert is sponsored by the National Cultural Fund.
Ticket purchase

If we played all of Haydn’s Minuets, could we dance the entire night away? Most likely yes, as a good number of his symphonies, sonatas and string quartets contain minuets. Tonight, the first of the 24 Minuets for the orchestra will be heard. Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto is unique in itself, a neoclassical, lively creation, even while its order of movements (Toccata, Aria, Aria, Capriccio) give it a special dramaturgy. Another point of interest is that despite its string solos, flautists also get to play an emphasised part. Franz Lehár’s works are rarely heard in symphonic concerts, but in this case, a very famous Lehár Waltz is paired with Haydn’s Minuet. In closing, we will hear yet another parallel and opposite in Lehár’s contemporary, but completely different spirited Suite from Der Rosenkavalier by Richard Strauss. These two pieces were originally meant for the theatre stage, and are similar in that they both take place in a nostalgic, lighthearted world.

Pannon Philharmonic performances extend a gold-backed guarantee, that time spent unwinding at our high-quality concerts will ripen into an opportunity for collaborative music making.
Season ticket purchase



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

10.00am – 6.00pm

+36 72/500-300 (EN)


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative

Ms. Dorottya Éva Szőts
ticket clerk


Press relations

Ms. Eszter Tóth
communication manager 
Tel.: 20/449-8552