Jupiter’s Dance

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony in C major ‘Jupiter’, K. 551
Maurice Ravel: Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
Maurice Ravel: Bolero

József Balog – piano

Conducted by: András Vass

Ticket prices: HUF 5,990 » HUF 4,990 » HUF 3,990 » HUF 1,000
Ticket purchase

Two composers, three famous and unique pieces. A symphony as an opener, a recital piece composed for a one-handed pianist, and a closing dance built on a single melody. The symphony was named “Jupiter” posthumously, Mozart never heard his final masterpiece played. Those who did, however, saw such perfection in it, that they compared it to Jupiter, the Roman king of the gods. The piano concerto for the left hand was composed at the behest of Paul Wittgenstein, a pianist who lost his right in the First World War, eager to prove that one hand is enough for virtuosity. Wittgenstein commissioned works from others as well, but it was Ravel’s, the one that would later become the most popular, that he found too weak. Even those who don’t regularly attend concerts will recognise the melody and rhythm parading through the Boléro. Throughout the entire 15-minute piece, we hear the same stubborn rhythm repeated, topped by the same melody through and through. Far from creating a monotone work, the talented orchestral composer Ravel composed one of the most popular symphonic works of the 20th century.

Pannon Philharmonic performances extend a gold-backed guarantee, that time spent unwinding at our high-quality concerts will ripen into an opportunity for collaborative music making.
Season ticket purchase



Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

10.00am – 6.00pm

+36 72/500-300 (EN)


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative

Ms. Dorottya Éva Szőts
ticket clerk


Press relations

Ms. Eszter Tóth
communication manager
Tel.: 20/449-8552