Autumn Serenade

Leonard Bernstein: Overture to Candide
Leonard Bernstein: Serenade (after Plato's Symposium)
Edward Elgar: Symphony No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 63

Giovanni Guzzo – violin

Conducted by: Howard Williams

Ticket prices: HUF 3,990 » HUF 2,990 » HUF 1,000
Ticket purchase

An American and an English composer’s works, the first inspired by the Frenchman Voltaire’s novella set in Germany, the second by the ancient Greek Plato’s Symposium, and the third written to commemorate an English ruler. The program will be executed by a Venezuelan soloist, an English conductor and a Hungarian orchestra channelling the full grandeur of Western Civilisation. The prelude to Bernstein’s Candide awakens optimism and confidence, while throughout the serenade - which is actually a violin concerto - occasional melodies appear on the theme of love. Elgar’s Symphony commemorates King Edward VII. and is therefore naturally dignified and lofty, but also surprisingly intimate and personal. The program captures our fundamental emotions from multiple sides. While all of the pieces were composed in the 20th century, they call on historical events from ancient times, across the Renaissance to the turn of the century, giving voice to the philosophies of each era.




Ticket Office of Kodály Centre

10.00am – 6.00pm

+36 72/500-300 (EN)


The Headquarters and Rehearsal Room of the Pannon Philharmonic

7622 Pécs,
Breuer Marcell sétány 4.


Public relations

Ms. Blanka Tatrai
sales representative

Ms. Dorottya Éva Szőts
ticket clerk


Press relations

Ms. Eszter Tóth
communication manager 
Tel.: 20/449-8552